ESPcat Electric Solar Powered Catamaran

Should I really be trying to change the world at 70 or am I too old?  Tell me if I shouldn’t be doing it and I’ll stop straight away.  Anyway, I didn’t set out to change the world so I can’t be blamed. Blame is for those who set out to do something they shouldn’t do.  In my case, I simply wasn’t paying close enough attention to what I was doing.

To put things in perspective, I’m not trying to change the entire world; only the part associated with boats.  Don’t get me wrong.  I like boats; every kind of boat; rowboat, canoe, sailboat, motorboat, speedboat, yacht.  I like getting in them and rocking around or fishing or sleeping or sailing or watching the stars or the seabirds or the dolphins.  If it is a boat, I like it, but not everyone feels the same way.

Most women won’t go anywhere where there isn’t a flush toilet.   That eliminates quite a few boats.  Many men feel the same way but won’t admit it.  Real men don’t talk about that sort of thing.  When it comes to motorboats, most women can’t stand the smell let alone the noise and the banging and crashing.  If it’s a sailboat, most women don’t like the leaning over on one side part.  A lot of men secretly feel the same.

I like women and most men for that matter but I also like boats so something has to change.  I know what I’ll do!   I’ll build a new kind of boat.  A boat that everyone likes.  It will be comfortable, quiet, sweet smelling and lots of fun for all the guys and girls and secret boat haters.   I’ll build the first practical coastal cruiser, powered entirely by the sun.   It will sleep 6 and travel faster than most sailboats.  How hard can it be?

Well there you have it.  That’s how it all started.  Here I am, stuck with changing the world of boats.  I’m an electrical engineer with many years experience designing automation system.  It is only natural for me to design an electric boat.  Too bad I don’t actually know much about building boats!

I decided to make it easy on myself so rather than starting from scratch, I bought an 8.5 meter racing catamaran sailboat with no sail.  She is called Borderline and she is light (about 1000 kg, 2,200 lbs) with hulls that are so thin they simply slice through the water rather than plowing through it like many boats do.

Borderline

Did I mention that I live in New Zealand?   If you want to float a boat, this is the place to do it.  If you come back from time to time, I will tell you how my project is going.

Leave a Reply

