ESPcat The End of Oil

I used to share an office with Adrian, a scientist who was obsessed with the notion of “Peak Oil”.  Peak oil is defined as the point in time when the discovery of new oil reserves is unable to keep pace with the increase in oil demand.  8 years ago, Adrian was sure we had reached Peak Oil and that oil prices would soon spiral towards the sky.  Well, that didn’t happen.  As of yesterday, the world has changed.  Thanks to Elon Musk, we now have the world’s first, affordable electric car; the Tesla Model 3.  Elon Musk

Not only have we not reached Peak Oil but soon, oil will be like coal and nobody will give a damn about it as a fuel.  The car I now own is the last liquid fuel car I will ever own.  My next car will be electric.  I will live to see the dismantling of the network of petrol filling stations.  All the criminals will leave Nigeria and Guatemala  and the people will have a chance at a real life.   Saudi Arabian sheikhs will have to work for a living and will have to give up persecuting women.  And yes; everyone will want to own an electric, solar powered catamaran.

It is an exciting time for us geeks.  At 12 years of age, I got my amateur radio license.  I was unfortunate enough to become a geek long before being a geek was cool.  It didn’t matter to me of course because I had no idea what cool was.  I didn’t know there was such a thing as cool.  Being a geek is everyone else’ problem, not mine.  And now here we are at the dawning of geek nirvana!

We’ve got electric cars, solar powered boats, robots and artificial intelligence.  It’s almost as good as sex and lasts longer! I can’t remember a more exciting time in science unless you want to include the time when I was 12 years old.

I added the stainless steel stern rail to Borderline today.  Life is good for us geeks.   The ESPcat will be taking shape by next New Zealand summer; just as folks are taking delivery of the first Tesla Model 3 cars.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “ESPcat The End of Oil

  1. JC the Great,

    Yes, this is finally the era of the geek. My husband is a 100% computer geek as is my cousin Diane’s husband. Ours has been a full time job “socializing” our men. I failed..came on the scene too late. Diane has had good success and raised 4 kids, 2 of whom worked at Google, certifiably geeks.
    We often mention how lucky we were to live to see our men considered “normal”….and I, a former cheerleader, am thrilled. The guys of course couldn’t care less.

    Jody Ledew

    Like

  2. Hi Jody. I certainly hope you are not accusing me of being normal. My dad used to say that he wished he had enough money so that people would call him eccentric instead of crazy.

    Like

  3. Had a long note typed but “lost” it …you are right about geeks….cousin Di and I married computer geeks who naturally didn’t know they were “different”..my father said something about he’d rather see me married to the man in the moon,etc…he came around of course. Di’s husband started out fairly normally ..an electrical engineer…but took off on some esoteric computer puzzle. Two of their sons worked for Google long enough to not have to work now. You all are laughing.

    Jody

    Are you a Grandpa? I will be a Grandma by June.

    ________________________________ > Date: Tue, 5 Apr 2016 05:12:11 +0000 > To: jodyplb@hotmail.com >

    Like

Leave a Reply

