ESPcat Boating Dreams

Our friends Roger (Boat Guy) and and his wife Chris just returned from Hawaii where Gallagher and I where holidaying with them on the island of Kauai.  Because Roger is a boat designer, he and I spent some time looking at boats.  One of the places we looked was the tiny harbor of Nawiliwili not far from where we were staying (the wives were shopping).Nawiliwili

After wandering around for a bit The Boat Guy spotted an absolutely enormous mast laying on the ground.  Unfortunately I didn’t take a photo of it but it was huge at 140 feet in length.  We stopped for a look and ended up chatting to a lovely lady, living right there, who turned out to be the owner of the boat that went with the mast; an incredible 118 foot trimaran Rave pictured below!
trimaran 118 footrendering of trimaran 118 foot
Just look at the size of those tiny people!
http://www.boats.com/sailing-boats/2015-earl-edwards-trimaran-5381216/#.V2tDB6L-ggs  http://www.aeroyacht.com/2015/05/19/trimaran-rave/

This absolutely incredible boat was designed and built by Earl Edwards, an MIT graduate engineer who unfortunately died not long ago, leaving his partner with the unfinished dream boat project. I sure hope someone comes along to help her finish.  I don’t think it would take that much to get her sailing.

I have been dreaming of building a special boat for 30 years or more.  Until now I had neither the time nor the resources to get the project started but that never stopped me from dreaming about it.  Over the years I have looked at countless boats, many of them only partially built.  Only a few years ago, I looked at a boat restoration project involving a traditional wooden motor boat of about 28 feet.  The boat was sitting on the front lawn of a modest house.  The old boy doing the restoration had gotten to the point where he could no longer climb the ladder to the boat so he was selling up.  He wasn’t asking much.  I visited another old guy who had this steel boat under construction in his shed.  He too was “past it” and selling up.  The boat was a complete “dog” as far as I could tell.  It was going cheep.  Then there was The Trimaran.

Do I have a point here?  Yes I do.  I am determined not become that guy who adds another dream boat to the long list of unfinished dream boat projects.  Do I think I will finish?  Yes I do.  In fact, I plan to be drinking champagne on her with family and friends in the upcoming summer of 2016.  ESPcat will not be complete then but she will be running under the power of her gasoline powered outboards.  Then the real fun begins.   I am giving myself another year to complete the solar propulsion system.   What could possibly go wrong?

2 thoughts on “ESPcat Boating Dreams

Leave a Reply

