ESPcat volunteer workers

The volunteer workers, Paul and Brian, have been at it again.  I hate the word “slave”; it conjurers up such negative images.2016-09-26-15-00-57  Anyway, they have been working away, loading more panels onto Borderline.  I will do my thing alone, tomorrow to finish off the latest round of work.

I just finished reading “Elon Musk” an excellent biography by Ashlee Vance.  I like biographies of famous scientists and inventors.  Some of my favourites are Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Edison, Marie Curie, Alexander Graham Bell, Burt Munro and Nikola Tesla.  There are many more but these people are the first who come to mind.

If you don’t know who Elon Musk is, he is the guy behind the Tesla electric car, SpaceX rocket ships and PayPal online payment systems.  If you like biographies and technology then I highly recommend the  Elon Musk one.  Musk is changing the world.  Musk plans to colonize Mars so that mankind is less likely be become extinct.  How’s that for a goal?

Musk’s plans are somewhat lofty compared to my world changing ideas but then Musk is a prodigal genius and I am not.  Reading about Musk and his adventures is exciting and inspiring.  I am now more convinced then ever that ESPcat will indeed, change the world of boating by replacing smoky, oil burning boats with environmentally friendly, solar electric ones.  Young people will learn all about the Hauraki Gulf and the world will be a better place; and that’s only the beginning.

Some of the things I like about Musk is that he doesn’t smell bad, he loves physics and he has a world changing plans.  I have all of those very, same attributes although I am a bit smelly sometimes.  Oh and Musk is worth 10 billion dollars and my net worth is closer to 10 dollars.   OK so we don’t actually have anything in common at all except that we booth like physics and plan to change the world.  That should be enough.

Now you can say that Musk is crazy with his Mars ideas and you can say that I am crazy with my ideas to fill the ocean with solar powered boats but I think both goals are achievable.   Musk is a prodigal genius as was Nikola Tesla so Musk aspires to goals that us mere mortals find astounding and many simply laugh at.

I, on the other hand, am an eccentric, non-genius, ageing, engineer.  I am nevertheless, inspired by the Musk phenomenon.  I can’t help myself; I like to dream big and there is nobody who dreams bigger than Elon Musk.  The ESPcat is actually coming along quite nicely according to schedule.  It is going to happen and the world will change and the change will be good.

PS –  I recommend “Prodigal Genius” The life of Nikola Tesla by John J. O’Neill or maybe “The Agony and the Ecstasy” about Michelangelo if you are not so enamored with technology.

3 thoughts on “ESPcat volunteer workers

Leave a Reply

