ESPcat The Old Entrepreneur

When I was younger, I used to lie about my age.  But when I turned 65, I decided to start telling people how old I actually was so that others could see that an old fart could still get by, working in technology.  It is true that my brain is certainly not as agile as it was when I was 20 but my experience almost makes up for my senility.  Remember that if you are not old, you will be eventually, if you are lucky enough.

Now here I am at the ripe old age of 71; still being an entrepreneur.   I feel the same kind of obligation I felt at 65, to remind others that old age is actually an excellent age to be an entrepreneur.   Sure your goals may be a bit different than those of a 20 something but that is not necessarily a bad thing.  Remember, by the way, that Colonel Sanders was 66 when he started his fried chicken business.  So what are some of the advantages the aging entrepeneur has?

Well for one thing, you have time.  For the first time since I was a teenager, I have time to work on the things I like, simply for the joy of doing them.  Although I am far from wealthy, I have accumulated everything I need for survival so I am free to indulge my entrepreneurial fantasies such as building solar powered boats and passing on a bit of accumulated knowledge.

Another thing us oldies have is friends and connections.  It’s amazing how many other old farts are just waiting for someone to ask them for some help.  Ok they may be a bit useless and feeble but that’s not a problem; you just get more of them!

So today, I put up the first of 9 roof panels on the boat cabin.  I never fell off the ladder even once!  I sure hope that PVC welding cement works. 2016-10-04-10-51-47

One last thing many of us old farts now have is good health.  Even if you haven’t looked after yourself, it is amazing what drugs can do.  Take them by God and go for it!  If you haven’t yet reached the age of “old-fartedness” you might want to consider taking the advice I was given when I was 30 – “a minimum of 20 minutes of vigorous physical exercise, at least 3 times per week”.  Jogging is an example of vigorous physical exercise.  I took that advice and have stuck to it religiously for 40 years.  You should do the same. You too could become an old entrepreneur.

Leave a Reply

